Article: Enbridge and the National Energy Board Push To Open Line 9 Ahead of Legal Challenge by Indigenous Community

Ahead of the June 16th court date for the Chippewas of the Thames First Nation, Rachel Avery and Dan Kellar of the Grand River Media Collective have written an article for the Media Coop discussing the federal appeal, constitutional responsibilities, third party consultation, as well as the ongoing risks associated with the Line 9 pipeline reversal project.

To read the article, click the following link:…

…read more

From:: Daily GRRR

The Electrifying Episode 1 & 2 Artists

We recently released Episode 1 and 2 of our Audio Comic that promotes arts and culture from across Canada. A HUGE part of this multimedia comic is the artwork that is done by various local artist. Our Audio Assault for this past week was to play some songs in dedication to our Episode 1 and 2 artists.

I’m not sure why we decided to do Batman voices in their honour but we did.

Artist for Episode 1:
Alex Palczewski is a local Waterloo artist who recently wrote a children’s book called “The Princess of Lost Things”. Her visual art is mainly done using oil paints and water colours. Find more art from Alex here:

Artist for Episode 2:
At the time of creation, Sophia Westrop was a local High-school student who was interested in getting involved with the comic. Find more of her artwork here:

Check out both of their artwork here in Episode 2:

Season 2 Episode 2: Interrogations #DJJEJ

Last night on the SoundFM program “Electrifying Sessions”, DJ Jeff E Jeff released Season 2 Episode 2: Interrogations from the series “The Electrifying Adventures of DJ Jeff E Jeff”. This episodes is the 10th installment in the series. Artwork for this episode was created by Sophia Westrop.

For the whole series go here:

We continue to feature great Canadian Bands in this series. Here is the next group of great Canadian bands (in order of appearance):

1) Hayden
2) The Zolas
3) After Dark
4) Blind
5) Foxtrott
6) Last Ex
7) Hoosier Poet
8) Mean Red Spiders
9) The Marble Index
10) Robot Apocalypse featuring Parker Bossley of Fur Trade and The Gay Nineties

Waylaid – One of Many Bands playing the Sound FM Live! – Locally Grown Summer Series June 13 @The Button Factory

Matt from Waylaid. JP on violin and Jeff on bass
Matt from Waylaid. JP on violin and Jeff on bass

Waylaid is a solo project by Matthew Ariaratnam. After four years of studying music at Wilfrid Laurier University, he had songs piling up in the ‘vault’ so he decided it was finally time to share them. Matthew Ariaratnam is a singer/songwriter, composer, improviser, teacher, and multi-instrumentalist studying classical guitar and composition at Wilfrid Laurier University. He has been nominated for two “Album of the Year” awards from CHRW (Western University’s Radio Station) and a Jack Richardson Award for folk/roots band. His music has been heard on CBC radio and college campuses across Canada. He is currently involved in Sweet Pieces (impromptu/electronic/loops) and his main project Waylaid. Through collaborating with chamber musicians at Wilfrid Laurier University, Matthew is crafting a selection of songs with cello, violin, guitar, bass, and drums. He is releasing a single and music video this winter. Recording with Simon Larochette (Olenka and the Autumn Lovers, Whipping Wind) at the Sugar Shack and Mastering with Andy Magoffin (Raised by Swans, Jim Guthrie, Two-Minute Miracles) at the House of Miracles.
Members: Matthew Ariaratnam–Guitars and Vocals
JP–Violin and Whistles
Jon–Cello and Whistles
Jeff–Bass and Everything
Aneeq–Drums and Percussion

I had Waylaid in the studio to chat about their music. Here’s is another group of talented classically trained musicians who play in many
other local bands including Onion House, Sweet Pieces, and several more local music projects. For more info and upcoming shows go to or Facebook And congrats to Matt! Next year he’s headed to Simon Fraser University In B.C. to pursue his Masters of Fine Arts in Interdisciplinery Studies. Play on!  Coral FM. 

Watch for Waylaid and member Aneeq Kals at Sound FM Live – Locally Grown Summer Series coming Sat June 13 to The Button Factory – presented by Sound FM and Coral Concerts. – Cheers Coral FM

Season 2: Episode 1: Coleman “The Electrifying Adventures”

Season 2 was kicked off last night with the release of Episode 1: Coleman on The Electrifying Sessions with DJ Jeff E Jeff. Tune in two weeks from now for Episode 2!

The Artwork for this episode was created by Alex Palczewski

Our comprehensive list of great Canadian bands continues this season with more exciting new and old bands (in order of appearance):

1) Econoline Crush
2) The Gay Nineties
3) Jon McKiel
4) Fresh Snow
5) Le Pelican Noir
6) Finger Eleven
7) Sinewave
8) Ought
9) Avec le soleil sortant de sa bouche
10) Robot Apocalypse – Featuring Ryan Stanley of Cursed Arrows

So Old It’s New set list for Monday, May 4, 2015

  1. Montrose, Space Station #5
  2. Nik Turner, Fallen Angel STS-51-L
  3. Lee Harvey Osmond, Loser Without Your Love
  4. The Rolling Stones, Look What The Cat Dragged In
  5. The Moody Blues, Talking Out Of Turn
  6. Guns N’ Roses, Better
  7. Jack Green, I Call No Answer
  8. David Wilcox, Ivory Tower
  9. Van Morrison, These Dreams Of You
  10. The Edgar Winter Group, Undercover Man
  11. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Edge Of Forever
  12. AC/DC, Emission Control
  13. Tom Wilson, Because Of You
  14. Rush, Clockwork Angels
  15. Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet Band, House Behind A House
  16. David Bowie, Station To Station
  17. Robert Plant, Win My Train Fair Home
  18. Jethro Tull, My God
  19. The Rolling Stones, Midnight Rambler (live 1975 LA Forum)
  20. Mick Taylor, Coastin’ Home (live)

New show, “The Weekly Refresh” coming soon to CKMS!

Sound fm is ready to bring you a brand new show this month!

Sponsored by FreshWater Records, “The Weekly Refresh” radio show hosted by Cameron Matthews will be starting Wednesday, May 13th at 10 pm and every Wednesday after from 10 pm – midnight.

Live DJ sets and new electronic dance music by upcoming Canadian DJ producer and  artist Cameron Matthews.

Full details coming to the Sound fm website soon.